Why?


There was something unnerving about the way he stood there.

 

He was calm and quiet; a relentless specter, bashing my forehead again,  and again.

 

How could someone who was so violent be so silent? How could someone so desperate be so compliant?

 

I spoke and he listened. Without so much as a tilted head, he accepted my decree, and slipped away.

 

Why did I expect more? Why did I desire more? Why did I need more?

 

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

 

I had never loved before. I would not again.

 

I had never deserted myself. I would not return.

 

I had never surrendered. I had whispered foolish things in her ear. Wisps of eternity, lies that I had thought to be true.

 

She spoke and I listened. Without so much has a tilted head, I accepted her decree, and I slipped away.

 

Why did I surrender? Why did I retreat? Why did I need more?

About theonlyjoe

I am Joe. This is a collection of my ramblings, poems, stories, afflictions, victories, and the picture of my mind. Make yourselves at home. View all posts by theonlyjoe

Comments and Criticisms Welcome! But try to be constructive.